Perspective / Investment

As the year is quickly coming to a close, I want to talk about something I have thought a  lot about. I am reminded of it even more now, as the day quickly approaches where I will no longer be a me but a we.

To start, I want you to read this parable in the book of Matthew. It is the story of the three servants who were left money by their master and what they did with it while he was gone. It ultimately is a parable of Christians in this world as our Lord has left but is returning soon. It tells us that we will be accountable for what we have done with what He has given us.

That is all good and well, but I want to take this story and spin it a little to give you a new perspective on it, that you may have not thought about. When I think of this story, I think of how I could relate it to my life right now, how I could take the principles and concepts and use them in my life in an unexpected way

I immediately thought of the master giving the servants the money, or in some versions talents. What have I been given? What has God charged me to take care of and to invest in? Most people would say their time, talents, gifts, etc. I would say, God has given me an amazing woman to start a life with and to grow with. He has charged me to invest in her, to lead her, to make sure she is better when He returns than when I got her. She is not mine to keep, but He has loaned her to me for this period, until His return. When He does return, how will I present her? Will I have invested in her and lead her to the point that God will say well done my good and faithful servant, or will I hide her away and say I was afraid I was going to lose her, she is just like you left her when I got her.

Investing in something, usually means a bit of a sacrifice on your part. It isn’t easy to do. If it was, there would be no reward. It is often easier to risk nothing.

To invest in what God has given me, to give it back worth more value to Him than when He loaned it to me, is something I hope I strive for daily. Not with just my wife to be, but in every area of my life. When we truly realize, that we are not owed anything in this world, that everything we do have is His, it changes our perspective. We should all strive to hear the words,

Well done, my good and faithful servant. You have been faithful in handling this small amount, so now I will give you many more responsibilities. Let’s celebrate together!

 


“Heavenly Father, I pray that you would touch the life and heart of every person who is reading this. I pray that you would stir up within them the desire to hear those words one day. That their attitude would be one of stewardship for everything you have given them. I pray that you would bless each and every person reading this beyond measure and those blessings would be multiplied. Help us all to press hard for the goal of hearing you say well done one day. Love you Lord, Amen.”

 

Leave a Reply

