It’s a Choice

This week and next, should be the happiest time of my life. I mean, I am getting married to an amazing woman in 9 days. I have a good life, lots a reasons to be happy, but for some reason, for the last few days, I have had a sense of sadness hanging over me. I have not been at my best and I have not been smiling as much as I have reason to.

Thinking about it, I cannot pinpoint as to why. It could be stress (trying to get everything done for the wedding) – it could be fear (I was married once and it didn’t turn out well), I got hurt – it could be a spiritual attack, trying to steal my joy.

Whichever reason, I am giving it more power over me than it deserves. I am in control of my thoughts and my emotions, not my circumstance or anyone else. Being happy is a choice, and I must choose to be happy every day.

Each morning when I open my eyes I say to myself: I, not events, have the power to make me happy or unhappy today. I can choose which it shall be. Yesterday is dead, tomorrow hasn’t arrived yet. I have just one day, today, and I’m going to be happy in it.

Groucho Marx

I am not promised tomorrow, I am here today and that is a gift. What happened in the past is gone, I cannot allow it to determine how I feel. I must wake up every morning and decide that today I will be happy, today I will thrive in each moment I am gifted.

It’s easy to talk about and it is a novel idea, but it is hard to put into practice. Waking up, I feel the weight of my day ahead of me; deciding to be happy is usually the farthest thing from my mind. If I remember all I have to be thankful, not just in this life, but in my eternal life and the sacrifice my Savior made for me, I have every reason to be happy.

I am sure you feel the same way sometimes, that the weight of life is too much to bear and you have no reason to be happy or joyful. I can promise you, you are not alone. Everyone feels that way at some point, it’s not the end. There is hope, joy, love and peace waiting for you. Decide today, that you will wake up every day determined to have the best day, full of joy; that those around are not in control of your life or your emotions.

Yes, joyful are those who live like this!
Joyful indeed are those whose God is the lord. – Psalms 144:15
See, God has come to save me.I will trust in him and not be afraid.
The lord god is my strength and my song;he has given me victory. – Isaiah 12:2
Three different times I begged the Lord to take it away. Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me. That’s why I take pleasure in my weaknesses, and in the insults, hardships, persecutions, and troubles that I suffer for Christ. For when I am weak, then I am strong. – II Corinthians 12:9-10

 


If you would like to start a conversation with me about this or any topic, please head to the About page and send me an email.

Leave a Reply

